Escaping the Cycle

Fueled by emotions my memories elude me​

Making me question all that I am 

All that I was

My heart is pounding 

My mind beings to race

The turmoil kicks in 

Judgement after judgement 

Opinion after opinion

The saddest part is the conditioning of our beliefs

Everything we learned is false

Nothing you knew then do you hold true now

Never really reaching what we are trying to find

Who really knows where to go

What path I take

Where to turn 

Everyone is just as lost as I am

Yet I hold myself back and I fight and argue 

I only become my own worse enemy 

Kicking and screaming

Never getting out of my head

Trying to find something that isn’t even there

I’m grasping in the dark and I never find the door

Stuck in the routine forever

All I need to do is to turn on the light

But I am too oppressed 

Too self involved 

Not strong enough

Soon it will all end 

In death, the inevitable. 

Leave a comment